top of page

Why everyone should try ballet

When I was 10 years old, I checked a ballet book out of the school library, brought it home, and asked my mom if I could try it. At the time, I was playing basketball and doing gymnastics. I had quit dance four years earlier, simply because I didn’t like how tight my ballet bun had to be for rehearsal. However, now at the ripe age of 10, I had begun to regret my decision.   

 

After I showed my mother the book and popped the question, she gently said, “I’m sorry, honey. I think it’s too late! You’ll fall behind if you join now.” And just like that, I didn’t bring it up again.  

 

4 years later, I quit every sport I was playing and restarted dance, and just last week, I took my first ballet class since I was 6.  

 

Therefore, everyone should try ballet. Now I didn’t write this just to convince you to try ballet. Through it enhances your technique, poise, patience, and strengthens your muscles in general, I know dance is not everyone’s forte. My point is, this isn’t just about ballet, or dance in general. It’s about doing what you want, no matter what other people think. Life is so unbelievably short, it’s not worth wondering what you could have done if you only had the courage to try. 

 

Was I scared to make a fool of myself last week? Yes, even with my extensive background in French, the teacher was saying words at the barre I had never heard before. I got lost in the counts, and I can’t do piques on the left, but I laughed it off. 

 

Life is short. You wake up one day, your hair is long and thick, and 20 years later, your skin has wrinkles, and your once blonde hair has turned grey. Now let me explain. This isn’t supposed to be a morbid wake-up call, it’s an aggressive encouragement. Do what you want to do, for you! It doesn’t matter if you mess up, or make a fool of yourself, life is too short! 

 

Try new things! Ice skate, rhythmic gymnastics, wearing the sundress to class, just be you at all costs. Be authentically yourself, and try new things, because you truly only live once.  

 

I spent half my life wanting to try ballet. When I was little, I would close my eyes and picture myself as a ballerina, and, just last year, I was on Poshmark looking at tutus and old Nutcracker costumes, not to purchase, but to put in my cart and pretend what it would be like if I did.  

 

I tried ballet last week. Was I the next Misty Copeland? Absolutely not! I loved the classical music, I loved the technique, and I loved being on that barre with my friends. But I also loved it because I had wanted to do it for so long. By being in that class, I was feeding my soul and leaning into my authenticity.  

 

Find your ballet and walk through life confidently. Be yourself, and the rest really doesn’t matter.  

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page