top of page

OPINION: Best Places to Live on Campus 

BY MIA DRAGONE




As the end of the year approaches, students have many reasons to be stressed. Along with finals, exams, and papers, something else that is hard to grasp is figuring out housing. Fortunately, I have been one of the few who have lucked out every year. My first year I lived in O’Hara, which was the best and most convenient place to live as a first year. It was close to all the academic buildings and was a close walk to the commons and even closer to Dunkin. As you get older, the options get better and better.  

Sophomore year there aren’t many amazing places to live, but if I had to recommend one place it would be the Pilgrim Heights Trailers. I lived in Manomet, and it felt like I was a real adult. There is no RA living with you, you have your own kitchen, 2 bathrooms, your own washer and dryer, and a living room to relax in after a long day of classes. On top of all the luxuries, they also have recently been renovated so much that you don’t even feel like you were in college housing.  

This year I live in the Junior Courts. I can confidently say that it’s one of the best options for a junior but to be honest, it’s not as amazing as the trailers, but it’s still convenient. You get to live on the courts with other juniors and you also have a full kitchen and common area. My only issue with this option is that I find the courts to be a little gross. It always seems to be dusty, and there is only one washer and dryer for 24 people. Like I said, although it is the best housing for juniors, It’s definitely not the best housing on campus overall.  

Although I’ve had no experience with Senior Housing, I have seen both options, Bogan Hall or as people say, “New Hall” and the Senior Courts. The Senior Courts are pretty much the junior courts just in a better location. But the place that I’m trying to live in for my senior year is New Hall. On top of it being the newest housing on campus, it also has a full kitchen, living room, 2 bathrooms, and more. Like the trailer, you don’t live with an RA and have your own washer and dryer. What’s better than that?  

Overall, the housing on this campus is a hit or miss. Although school can be stressful this time of year, don’t let housing be what keeps you up at night because now you know exactly where to live!  



12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page