top of page

Letter from the Editor: September edition out now!

Dear Skyhawks,  

  

Welcome back to campus! I hope everyone has had time to settle in and get back into the routine of college life. The Summit team is very happy to be publishing our first paper of the year, and we think you’re going to love it! Whether this is your first time picking up our paper, or you’re a returning reader, we hope you find something in here that interests you.  

  

For those who don’t know me, my name is Caleb Tobin, and I am the editor in chief of The Summit this year. I am currently a senior majoring in communications with a minor in digital media production. Student journalism has played an important role in my life for many years, and I couldn’t be more thrilled to be in this position, even if this is not a role I intended to have when I became a copy editor two years ago. But hey, sometimes life has its own plans for you! Getting to work alongside this amazing staff for two years has been one of the highlights of my college experience, and I can’t wait to see what we’ll do this year. I especially want to thank the previous editor in chief, Caroline Bunnell, for helping me prepare for this year and encouraging me to implement some of my ideas. 

  

For those who don’t know, The Summit is an entirely independent, student-run newspaper. For 75 years, The Summit has committed itself to ethical, unbiased reporting and publishing a variety of guest essays from the Stonehill community. While we do have a faculty advisor and receive funding from the Student Government Association, we have complete editorial independence and cover stories as we see fit.  

  

Our team works hard to publish a variety of stories ranging from breaking news and reporting on campus developments to covering Stonehill’s D1 athletics program. We also cover national and international events, such as the recent presidential debate and the war in Gaza. Over the next two months, we will continue to report on the presidential election as well as state-level elections and ballot initiatives. 

  

Recently, we have been reporting on new initiatives by the SGA, Stonehill’s study abroad program, and issues with the new dining program. All of these stories, and more, can be found on our newly redesigned website, stonehillsummit.wixsite.com/summit. It is my goal to get new articles on the website every week. We also post on social media when a new article is published, so be sure to follow us on Instagram, Facebook, and X @thesummitnews to get the latest updates. While we love publishing six print issues per year, the reality is that most people get their news online these days, and this new focus on our digital reporting will ensure The Summit remains the place to go for all things happening at Stonehill. 


I also need to issue a correction. On page 12, an article titled "Non-conference, no problem" is attributed to Lauren Moran. The article was written by Laci Schlatz, not Lauren Moran. This error was realized after the paper had been sent to print, and The Summit apologizes for the misprint.

  

The Summit is always looking for new members, so if you want to get involved with The Summit, email us at thesummit@stonehill.edu. Whether you want to submit an opinion piece, do some reporting, or have a tip on a potential story, we’d love to work with you.  

  

On behalf of the staff, I hope you enjoy The Summit’s first print issue of the year. 

  

  

Caleb Tobin  

Editor in Chief  

The Summit News 

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page