top of page

Letter From The Editor: New Year, New Look

Dear Reader,

 

Welcome back! The beginning of a new year at Stonehill is always one of the best times; the campus is full of activity, friends get back together, and everyone rushes to get Dunkin’ before their 10 a.m. class. For the freshmen who are new to campus, either mobile order or plan on waiting 20 minutes when you get there in the morning. Trust me when I say the line gets long.

 

For those who don’t know me, my name is Caleb Tobin, and I am the editor in chief of The Summit this year. I am currently a senior majoring in communications with a minor in digital media production. Student journalism has played an important role in my life for many years, and it is a privilege to close out my college career managing this paper, even if this is not a role I intended to have when I became a copy editor two years ago. But hey, sometimes life has its own plans for you! I especially want to thank the previous editor in chief, Caroline Bunnell, for helping me prepare and believing in my ability to do this job.

 

Getting to work alongside the rest of the Summit staff the past two years has truly been an amazing experience. Even with a small team, we published three amazing 16-page editions last semester, the highlight being our issue dedicated to the College’s 75th anniversary. This year we have a lot of exciting plans, including increased coverage of the Student Government Association, reporting on the presidential election, and the release of our newly rebuilt website.

 

Over the past couple of weeks, I have been reworking the layout of the website to give it a modern look and improve the user experience. You will see new sections for articles, links to our social media, and a new “about” page. We are also striving to post new articles on the website every week and be more active on social media, so be sure to follow us on Instagram, Facebook, and X @thesummitnews. It is my goal to give The Summit an active role on campus, and by the end of my tenure, I hope that nobody on campus will ever say “I didn’t know we had a newspaper.”

 

The Summit is entirely student-run, meaning every article we write is written by students for the Stonehill community. The Summit publishes a variety of stories ranging from hard-hitting news to features covering aspects of campus life. We also localize state, national, and international events and measure their impact on the students and staff of Stonehill.

 

As we work to increase our coverage and connect with the community, I want to ask you, our readers, what matters to you? Is there a story you think is worth looking into? Is there an opinion you want to share? Is there something that concerns or excites you? If you want to suggest coverage, submit an opinion piece, or get involved with The Summit, you can contact us by emailing thesummit@stonehill.edu. We are always looking for new reporters, photographers, and contributors, so if you enjoy writing and want to get involved, don’t hesitate to reach out.

 

The Summit’s first print edition of the year comes out on September 18th. Until then, have a great start to the semester!

 

Caleb Tobin

Editor in Chief

The Summit News

 

Caleb can be reached at ctobin1@students.stonehill.edu

88 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page