top of page

Don't procrastinate on the hard classes

As a senior, I find myself reflecting on one of the toughest decisions I’ve made during my college career: leaving my Stats and Science requirement until senior year. These are my most troubling classes and coming into college as a freshman I did everything I could to postpone my time taking them, thinking it would all work out when the time came. Well, that time certainly came quicker than I expected!  


My biggest piece of advice for college students is to tackle the hard classes first. Taking on challenging courses early in your academic journey not only helps you build a strong foundation, but it also frees up your later semesters for more flexibility and opportunities. By getting the more demanding classes out of the way, you reduce the stress of juggling tough subjects alongside senior-year responsibilities like internships, capstones, or job searching. It also gives you more time to explore electives, pursue interests, and dive deeper into what excites you without the pressure of difficult core requirements looming over you. 


Postponing these subjects came with a mix of relief and regret. On one hand, I had great ease in college and took some interesting classes that shaped my mind in what I would love my career path to look like early on. On the other hand, I am now struggling in my final year of college while I wish I could be trying new classes for fun.  


Though it’s been challenging, this experience has taught me to embrace the difficulties, trust my evolving interests, and accept that sometimes, getting the tough things over with is a smart decision! 

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page