top of page

Class of '28 Adjusts to College Life

It’s not easy starting college away from home in a new town or a new state, but two Stonehill first-years are hoping their friendship will make the transition smoother.  


Davin Garamella and Aiden Lawler are freshmen, roommates, and friends who are from West Haven, Connecticut.  


“Aiden and I have been close friends for quite a while now. We grew a connection in high school playing football together,” said Garamella. “Attending Stonehill together initially started off as a joke, then as the time drew closer and closer it became a reality. We have been taking this journey together and getting to know new friends together.” 


Lawler said having a friend close by is good. “It really helped knowing someone on campus. When I need something, I know I can lean on him and vice versa. Davin’s dad was also a class president here at Stonehill from the Class of ’92, so he helped guide our college transition.”  


Lawler has also been meeting people in his classes. “Davin is more of the social one, so when he goes off, I have my other group of friends and other hobbies that keep me busy and satisfied,” he said. 


Having a hometown friend as a roommate is helpful but not needed, as other freshmen have found.


Alex Hersey, from Marshfield, Massachusetts, said the students he met at orientation were key for him. “My core orientation group has stuck along, and I enjoy my classes, so I’m chilling. I’m going to try and be more involved on campus also,” Hersey said. 


Hersey said he was told the first few weeks of college would be different from high school. “I heard the first few weeks are jarring and I feel that. Adjusting to the new environment and getting comfortable has made me homesick, but I just miss the people. Luckily, I’ve met a solid group like I said from orientation, so we have stuck together and that has gone very well.” 


Geoffrey McGann from Wakefield, Massachusetts, said he was prepared for tougher schoolwork.


“I’ve heard it’s a struggle academically and socially, learning professors’ expectations and how to really take a college course. Meeting new people also but familiarizing yourself with campus helps a lot to know people.” McGann said. 


McGann said things are going smoother than expected, “I’ve been going out with friends, so the transition felt easy. Courses, I’ll tell more as they go.” 

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page