top of page

Volleyball's five seniors sum up careers ahead of Saturday's game

BY BELLA SANTORO


Saturday will be an emotional day for Stonehill Volleyball's five members of the Class of 2022, who will be honored on “Senior Day” against the University of New Haven at 2 p.m. in Merkert Gymnasium.


Each of the five members of the senior class have made a tremendous impact on the program, both on and off the court.


Ahead of Saturday's Senior Day, I had the pleasure of catching up with the five '22's, Abby Remick, Lauren Wilke, Clare Feeman, Carly Russell and Shannon Burgess who all reflected upon their careers wearing Skyhawk Purple and White.


Much like any senior athlete approaching their final game at home, there’s a mix of emotions. Just ask senior captain, Abby Remick.


“I have tried to not think too much about the end of my volleyball career, to be honest,” Remick said. “I am excited for the physical day of it and the game, but also sad as this will be my last time playing as a Skyhawk in Merkert.”


Even though the day itself brings so many emotions, the five seniors are focused more than ever as they look to take down the number one seed in the conference, the New Haven Chargers, on Saturday.


“I am excited for Senior Day especially because we will be playing the University of New Haven so it will be a big game for not only us Seniors but the whole team,” senior captain, Lauren Wilke said.


Not only is Senior Day filled with so many feelings, but it’s also a time the seniors reflect on memories made during their four-year careers as players.


The seniors reflected on some of the funniest and best memories they’ve made while being a part of the program.


“On the court the best memory so far would have to be sophomore year when we beat LeMoyne in the quarterfinals of playoffs to advance us to the semifinals,” senior Carly Russell said. “It was such a good game and we all played very well. I still remember the adrenaline and how happy we all were after we won.”


Although the memories made didn’t end at the white line of the court, but beyond Merkert gymnasium they shared some laughs and smiles as well.


“It’s hard to talk about just one because there are so many, I’ve had so many laughs with these girls and I think laughing with them about stupid stuff is one of the things I will miss the most,” senior Shannon Burgess said. “My favorite Stonehill Volleyball memory off the court has to be this year when we went back to fellow senior Abby Remick’s house for a barbecue and we just ate, talked, and laughed all day and night.”

Senior Clare Feeman said there are a lot of emotions that come with the name of Senior Day but is thankful for more than putting the Stonehill jersey on.


“I’m thankful for all of it; I’ll miss my teammates the most, especially those that have been by my side for a long time, and obviously the game of volleyball itself that has been a part of my life for such a long time.”


Whether they first hit a volleyball in New York, Rhode Island, Michigan, Florida, or Missouri, the five seniors are ending their Skyhawk volleyball career in the one place that turned them into best friends: the Merkert Gymnasium.


“I am very proud of the athletes all five of us have developed into in the past four years; the seniors and I have gone through some much,” Burgess said. “We have all stuck with each other the past four years from the ups to the downs and I wouldn’t trade the team and memories I have for the world.”


“I’m going to miss my teammates, especially these four, so much,” Remick said. “It’s crazy to think about how Stonehill volleyball took the five of us seniors from different places across the country and formed an unbreakable bond.”


No matter the occasion, the players will forever be grateful for the opportunity Stonehill Volleyball has given them to play in such a great conference.


“I will miss the constant competition the most and playing at such a high level in college,” Feeman said. “Not many people get the chance to compete in college, never mind in the NE-10.”


While it will be a very sad day knowing their time as collegiate athletes is ending, the seniors will smile as they step onto the court one last time knowing the sport has taught them so many lessons and given them some of their closest friends.


“Volleyball has been a big part of my life for quite some time now, and I have such love for it,” Wilke said.


“From the bus trip back from New York my freshman year where the five of us sat in the back and built a fort out of blankets like little kids to stepping on the court as seniors playing our final game, I will forever be thankful for Stonehill Volleyball being a part of my life,” Feeman said.


As they lace up one last time and pump up to music in the locker room before Saturday’s game, Burgess, Feeman, Remick, Russell, and Wilke can only smile knowing they left a legacy behind them. “It’s always been the five of us and looking back it’s really hard to imagine that this adventure is coming to an end. I feel like it’s part of the end to an era,” Russell said.


The five seniors are super grateful for everything that Stonehill Volleyball has allowed them to do, and they can’t wait to finish it with the same people they started with!


Come support these fabulous five at 2 p.m. on Saturday in the Merkert Gymnasium!


254 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update on the SA on Campus

BY CIAN HAMELL-KELLEHER The investigation regarding the sexual assault that occurred on campus Saturday, April 13, remains ongoing, according to the Stonehill College Police Department. “While we cann

bottom of page