top of page
Search

Quality quarantine time

BY JORDYN FORTE


When junior Kayleigh Nadal first entered quarantine on Saturday, January 22, she found herself alone in Humarock.


“I was really not doing well having really bad COVID symptoms, being ripped from my normal, everyday life, and being alone,” Nadal said.


Just two-and-a-half days later, on Monday, January 24, though, Nadal was joined by two others, including juniors Sophie Kripp and Rachel Moon.


Later in the week, seniors Emma MacIntyre, Jenna Rohlman, and Kristen Thornton and freshmen Mackenzie Perez and Seraiah LaPorte entered quarantine in Humarock as well.


“Having that social interaction while still trying to fight COVID really took a turn for the better for me, personally,” Nadal said.


The others in Humarock – all at various points in their COVID journeys – shared this sentiment.

“I’m happy that we quarantined together in a trailer because I think it was less stressful, and we were able to socialize and share necessities like cold medicine,” Thornton said via text message.


“It’s been great, and I think it’s much better than being by myself. I’m glad that I met these people, too, because it definitely helped me out with just being new at Stonehill,” LaPorte said.


“Quarantining with a lot of people in one house has definitely been way better than I thought it was going to be,” Perez said. “I came in with almost no symptoms to a house where a lot of people did have symptoms, so that definitely was weird, but it was also a better experience because I had company, and I would have preferred to have company – I think that boosted my mental health.”


Though they are unable to leave Humarock, the members of the “Breakfast Club,” as they call themselves, have done their best to make the most of the situation given the circumstances.


On Sunday, January 30, for instance, Kripp said she and her quarantine housemates had Teffy’s take-out delivered and watched Euphoria together.


“We’ve been trying to keep morale high here,” Kripp said. “I’m an RA typically, so I made door tags for everyone, and Rachel has been making eviction notices when people leave.”


To celebrate those who are able to leave quarantine, the group also throws eviction parties.


And, while they could not go outside to experience Saturday’s storm, coined Winter Storm Kenan by The Weather Channel, which left Easton, Mass. with a reported 22 inches of snow, they, too, enjoyed the day.


“We had a great time people-watching – the windows in Humarock are very clear – so we were able to watch people enjoy the snow,” Rohlman said.


While all said they were disappointed that they could not sled down Donahue, they are hopeful that they will get to do so at another time during the semester, and they are thankful for their unique quarantine experience, during which they received a tremendous amount of support from their peers.


“I’m looking forward to repaying my friends who have done so much for me,” Moon said. “My roommate, Emily Hartford, has given us loads of medicine and snacks. She made sure we were fully stacked on food, and she spent an incredible amount of money, time, and energy coming to make sure that not even just me as her roommate was okay, but that all of the people in the suite were okay, and I think that goes for everyone who had friends come by and drop stuff off.”


“I feel very fortunate to have spent this time with a lot of other people that made it enjoyable,” Kripp said. “And, I look forward to seeing everyone in here on the outside again, too. We have such a unique bond.”


Photo courtesy of Jenna Rohlman

Photo: Top (From L to R): Rachel Moon (2023), Kayleigh Nadal (2023), Sophie Kripp (2023)

Bottom (From L to R): Seraiah LaPorte (2025), Mackenzie Perez (2025), Jenna Rohlman (2022), and Kristen Thornton (2022)

Not Pictured: Emma MacIntyre (2022)

198 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update on the SA on Campus

BY CIAN HAMELL-KELLEHER The investigation regarding the sexual assault that occurred on campus Saturday, April 13, remains ongoing, according to the Stonehill College Police Department. “While we cann

bottom of page