top of page
Search

OPINION: Making a Final Decision

BY PAIGE BETTENCOURT



As I am halfway through with my sophomore year, and halfway done with my college career, I think it is safe to conclude that sophomore year is truly a time of discoveries. For example, making the big decision regarding the career path you want to take. If you are anything like myself, multiple meetings with countless advisors and department chairs would be a priority. Taking a sufficient variety of classes, learning what subjects get your interest and more importantly keep your interest. Taking in opinions from friends and family, but especially the emotions you get from making that final decision. Wondering if this is right because this is kind of your last chance. This is the final year you can make all these changes, and unfortunately, there is nothing easy about it.

I experienced all of this within a very tumultuous month beginning around Christmas time when I decided my interests are more centralized to my second major rather than my first. I was bored, and I wasn’t enjoying myself anymore. It’s honestly a little sad, the idea of leaving behind all the familiar faces and relationships you have built with the groups of people you typically find in your major. It can be scary too. Completely starting over with something new is not meant to be anything less than stressful, but its exciting too. Starting something new and getting to know new people can be a lot of fun. It’s easier of course when the subject is something you are passionate about. While it can be scary, sometimes it is best to just rip the band-aid. It’s the first step to finding a balance in life!



9 views0 comments
bottom of page