top of page
Search

OPINION: Live spontaneously

By Nick Fantasia


I can’t believe it’s all really over.


So, I wasn’t ever really thinking about writing one of these. I have several presentations and papers to do and yet all I want to do right now is put my thoughts onto paper. To all my roommates: Rory, Scott, and Liam, and honestly Don too, even though we didn’t live in the same room, I really enjoyed living with you. All the late-night chats, fun nights, and video game fights will be ingrained in my memory. My fridge will forever say, “Just Water” on it, Liam. I also spent a lot of time on discord with my friends Mora, Mike, and Brittany, and we had a great time.


Each year brought its own set of challenges, but through each experience, I only got stronger. Whether socially, academically, religiously, mentally, or any other way that I can think of, life has tested me, and I’ve learned so much.


My acapella group, Surround Sound, brought me to Stonehill and will be the sole club that I spent 4 years doing. I’ve loved singing with every single one of you, alumni, and current members. This last semester’s group is going to be the hardest to leave because of how hard we worked to get our schedule back to normal. Graduating as the President of Surround Sound was not planned, but I loved it all the same. You guys are going to do a great job next year, and I can’t wait to come back for the next concert.


The Summit allowed me to sharpen my editing skills and introduced me to a lot of great people. Max and Stacia, I loved staying up till 1 with you guys on layout nights and making everything look good. Elizabeth, you’ve done a great job as Editor-In-Chief and I’m so happy to have worked with you for so long.


There are so many more people I want to thank, but I don’t want to go on for too long. Professor Carkin-Lacorazza, I would have either failed out or left the school if not for you, and I can’t repay all the kindness you’ve shown me. Brooke, I am so sorry that we only met this year, I wanted to spend so much more time with you, and I’m going to be heartbroken when I walk across that stage and not walk back to O’Hara. Everyone on my staff you have been wonderful. To residents of O’Hara, although you’ve caused me to have some sleepless nights, I thank you for all of the conversations we’ve had together. I hope for the best for every one of you.


So that’s it, this is my only piece of writing that I ever did for the Summit, and it’s also my last. I don’t regret my time here, even with all of the difficulties. College taught me a lot, but I’ve learned an important lesson. Spend as much time as you can with the ones you love because once you cross that stage, it’s all really over.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page