top of page
Search

OPINION: From the Editor

By Elizabeth Ednie


Hey Skyhawks,


I cannot believe this is my last time addressing you all as the Editor in Chief of The Summit. It’s been the greatest journey serving as the leader of this amazing newspaper this past year, and I honestly can’t even begin to explain the joy I’ve experienced the past three years being involved with The Summit.


I started off as a nervous copy editor sophomore year, and if it wasn’t for my advisor, Maureen Boyle (who basically forced me to become a copy editor by telling me to sign the contract in class,) I would not have met one of my best friends to this day, Emma-Cate Rapose ‘20 who served as the Opinions Editor that year. I then went on to take her place my junior year, while also serving as the social media editor. I could not be more grateful for The Summit for giving me some of the closest friendships throughout my time here at Stonehill, and for helping me blossom into the person I am today.


To Rachel and Chris: I’m so excited to see your joint leadership next year, and I’ll always be a phone call or an hour-ish drive away if you need help with InDesign. To my other section editors and some of the best friends I could have made at Stonehill: Hannah, Jake, Kelly, and Justine: I love you guys so much. I’m going to miss all of our group texts for each Maureen class that we take, and for the late nights in the office. To Prof. Boyle: you have helped me grow tremendously as a writer and as a person, and have pushed me to do some of my very best work in short amounts of time. I truly couldn’t have asked for a better mentor, friend, and professor for almost every semester since spring 2019. You are an inspiration and a light to everyone who has the privilege of knowing you. To the rest of the staff: you all have worked so hard and made this year so much easier for me, and for that, I thank you. I don’t know what I would have done without you all.


To my best friends, (who I met far too late in my Stonehill career,) Megan, Kristin, Gabby, and Nicole: you guys listened to me rant endlessly about journalism things you don’t know much about, have been there for me when layout nights get stressful (shoutout Kristin), or are just a listening ear while I read my stories aloud to make sure they sound okay. Thank you. I honestly couldn’t have made it as editor-in-chief without you all, and your constant support and encouragement. To my family: thank you for always reading my stories and wanting copies of the paper every time I am home. The constant support has meant so much to me, and I am forever grateful for you all.


Lastly, to the Stonehill community, my professors, and classmates throughout these last four years: thank you all for helping me grow into the young woman I am today. I was not the same person I was when I moved in freshman year, and I am forever grateful for all of the experiences I’ve had here. The Summit will always hold a very special place in my heart, as it is such a huge part of Stonehill that (I hope) will continue to live on for years to come. Lux et Spes, forever and always.


So for the last time, see ya, Skyhawks; it’s been quite the honor.


Elizabeth Ednie

Editor in Chief

The Summit

32 views0 comments
bottom of page