top of page

OPINION: From the Editor

By Elizabeth Ednie


Hey Skyhawks,


I cannot believe it’s April already! As a senior, time is just flying by and I feel like I can’t keep up with everything that’s going on. So naturally, let’s talk briefly about applying for jobs because that’s what I’m in the midst of doing right now, and boy is it time-consuming. No one told us how difficult it is to apply for jobs while balancing classwork, part-time jobs, and clubs and meetings, not to mention, a social life. It seems like for me, I know what jobs I don’t want, but at the same time, don’t know what jobs I want. I feel like for my major and for my qualifications, I could do so much or go into a lot of different fields, but I’m also picky with the roles I’m currently looking at because I want to love what I’m doing and find happiness within the role. Just know that if you’re applying for a job, looking into graduate school, or finding your place in the world in general, you are not alone. Life is hard, and I feel like we aren’t prepared for life after school as much as we think.


That leads me into my next topic, which is feeling like we need to have everything figured out by now. We are all between the ages of 18 and 22 (for the most part). How could we possibly know what we want to do with the rest of our lives at this age! It’s so conventional and kind of the norm for college students to have an idea of what they want to do with their lives or know where they want to be in five years, especially since the point of college is to get a job in your field of study. For me, I just know where I want to physically be in five years, which is on Cape Cod where I grew up; but have no clue where I want to work, (but stay tuned for the next edition to find out where because I hope I’ll know by then) or what I want to be doing. And that’s okay. It’s okay to not know or to be unsure because we are still so young and have so much life ahead of us to figure it out.


With that, let’s embrace the idea that some of us don’t know what lies ahead of us. Some people have it figured out, or have a general idea of their path, but then there are some (like me) who just don’t know. I’m sure I’m just overreacting and an opportunity will come my way sooner rather than later, but for right now, I’m enjoying the rest of my time here at Stonehill with my friends. I will leave you with this cliche quote that I one hundred percent believe in and say quite often: “Everything happens for a reason.”


And I know I’ve probably included that in a past editor’s letter, but it’s true, (for me, most of the time). My past experiences whether that be in life, school, or work, always play out or fall into place at the right time, and I always learn something from them. So I’m putting my trust in God that the right opportunity will present itself when I am ready. If you take anything from this letter, let it be that. Manifest your life, believe that what will be will be, and focus on your happiness because that’s all we can really do.


See you in May!


Elizabeth Ednie

Editor in Chief

The Summit

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update on the SA on Campus

BY CIAN HAMELL-KELLEHER The investigation regarding the sexual assault that occurred on campus Saturday, April 13, remains ongoing, according to the Stonehill College Police Department. “While we cann

bottom of page