top of page

Internships this semester

By Hannah Lennon



Stonehill students are competing for jobs with their peers as they collide head-on with COVID-19 rules, regulations, and cancellations.


Last spring, the College suspended study abroad, internship, and externship programs due to the Coronavirus; suspensions continued into the fall. Students were forced into online programs along with online classes.


Meghan Jarret, Class of 2022, is interning remotely this semester with BestLogic Staffing as a Social Media and Content Marketing intern.


“I heard about this internship from Stonehill’s Handshake page after losing my summer internship opportunity due to COVID. I was really determined to have an internship, so I began looking for remote opportunities, and I landed one with a staffing agency in CT called BestLogic Staffing,” Jarret said.


Jarret’s application was a fully virtual process.


“I applied through Handshake with my resume and cover letter, and was then directed to an application on the BLS website. Within a day, I received confirmation that I was being scheduled for an interview the next day and I ended up being offered the position as a Social Media and Marketing Content Intern after the interview was completed,” Jarret said.


The internship may be online, but that’s not stopping Jarret from taking full advantage of her 16-hour work-week.


“I work 16 hours a week unpaid, but I am receiving credit towards my major. I work on creating content for the company’s social media platforms on LinkedIn, Instagram, and Facebook as well as write blogs on services that are offered by the company,” Jarret said.


Jarret has been exposed to a new industry through her work with BestLogic Staffing.


“Upon entering this internship, I did not know much about the staffing industry; however, after a considerable amount of time the past 11 weeks learning about the industry I feel as though I have an extensive background on how the company runs.”


Jarret is not the only student interning remotely this semester. The Career Development Center on campus is doing everything they can to help student interns this semester despite COVID-19 setbacks.


“Almost half of our fall interns are interning fully remotely, while the other half are split between in-person and hybrid,” Kristine Shatas, employer relations manager in the center, said.


Internships this fall are not only different, but there are fewer as well.


“The number of students interning for-credit is down compared to the Fall 2019 semester. There are currently 57 students interning for credit, where we typically see 80- 90 during a fall semester,” Shatas said.


Shatas said that the number of internships is likely in such a significant drop due to the cancellation of the Fall 2020 Stonehill in the City Programs.


But a decrease in internships isn’t stopping the Career Development Center from helping students succeed.


“This fall, we moved our On-Campus Interview program online, and began to offer Virtual Interview Days, which we will continue to offer those throughout the spring. I’ve also worked with the General Counsel’s Office to develop a new Internship Agreement for Employers form that considers the unique safety considerations during this time to help ensure a safe and successful experience for everyone,” Shatas said.


The virtual internship experience may be new, but it doesn’t have to be scary.


“Virtual interviews on platforms such as Microsoft Teams and Zoom are different from in person interviews and require some extra preparation. In virtual, or even phone interviews, it can be more challenging to express your enthusiasm and interest for a position or company. On top of that, there are so many considerations related to your technology, finding a quiet space to interview, etc. We encourage students to take advantage of our Mock Interview appointments and upcoming workshops, and to also utilize our resources in Handshake,” Shatas said.


Remotely working, learning, and interning is new for everyone; it comes with snags, setbacks, and successes.


“I wish I could have that in-person experience of being in the office with my coworkers. I have only truly met my boss and a handful of interns, which has put me at a disadvantage of really getting to know others in the office. Given the circumstances of the world, I am very fortunate to have this opportunity to continue my internship remotely despite wishing to be in the office,” Meghan Jarret said.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update on the SA on Campus

BY CIAN HAMELL-KELLEHER The investigation regarding the sexual assault that occurred on campus Saturday, April 13, remains ongoing, according to the Stonehill College Police Department. “While we cann

bottom of page