top of page
Search

A Legacy of Learning

BY MOLLY STONE



 

 Stonehill College has seen professors come and go throughout the years, but few have found their home here. One of these professors is Father James Chichetto.  


Chichetto graduated from Stonehill College in 1964 with a bachelor's degree in philosophy. He was in the seminary throughout college which is where he devoted most of his time. 

 

“My recollections about college life are scant since I was in the seminary. I attended classes then left campus to head back to the seminary. Reading the earlier editions of The Summit, however, has given me a far greater appreciation of college life 60 years ago,” Chichetto said. 


Chichetto commends his parents for sharing their values with him from a young age. They still hold significant impact throughout his day-to-day life.  


“My parents were married for nearly 60 years. Both died in the mid-nineties. Most of their lives were spent in the Berkshires. My dad was a lawyer-realtor, good in his field and very successful.

Both traveled but always enjoyed returning home to the Berkshires. If one were to ask them: ‘What made you stay together and stay for so long in the same location,’ they would answer, ‘Why not when we can have both home and travel interchangeably.’ I feel the same way, only I repeat the hope, love, and faith of my parents in a different lifestyle (as a Holy Cross religious under vows) and in a different location (Easton),” Chichetto said.  


Stonehill College is a place where Chichetto can practice what he loves but also remember his parents.  


 “I have stayed at Stonehill for so long because Holy Cross is my home and family and because Stonehill College is an academic ministry of the Holy Cross Fathers and Brothers, who founded the college 75 years ago and invited me to teach here and be part of the local community,” Chichetto said.  


“So instead of moving from here or there to some ‘borderland’ or other part of the country, I am going there all along by travel. So why would I want to move? Why not stay? I also agree with Confucius, ‘Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life,’” Chichetto said.  


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Update on the SA on Campus

BY CIAN HAMELL-KELLEHER The investigation regarding the sexual assault that occurred on campus Saturday, April 13, remains ongoing, according to the Stonehill College Police Department. “While we cann

bottom of page