top of page
Search

STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: Lucy Paul

By Justine Long


Lucy Paul is a junior, a double major in Psychology and Healthcare Administration.


  1. What are you involved in on campus?

I have been fortunate enough to have had the time to get involved with a variety of activities during my time at Stonehill. A few of the roles I fill on campus are a captain of the Club Ultimate Frisbee Team, a Writing Tutor and Senior Tutor with the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement, an Orientation Leader (Group 19 you have my heart), and a Lux et Spes Admissions Ambassador.



2. What do you do as a writing tutor?


As a writing tutor, I meet with my peers and guide them through their writing process whether it be for a specific paper or another project. The CWAA is a great resource for all students on campus. I utilize it myself when I need help on a writing assignment. I meet with students at any stage of their writing process and address any questions they have, or that we come up with. Then, I help them come up with action steps that they can take with them after the appointment. The CWAA offers writing tutoring in all courses (as well as professional writing tutoring) and subject tutoring in over 35 subjects. Book your appointment at tutortrac.stonehill.edu!


3. What is your favorite memory at Stonehill?


My favorite Stonehill memory so far has been traveling down to Myrtle Beach my freshman year with the ultimate frisbee team during our spring break for a tournament. It was my last pre-covid college memory and even after getting the email that we would be sent home when we got back, we made the most of it. It was great getting to bond with the team and play a sport I had never played before college against other schools.


4. What is your advice to first-year students?


My advice to first-year students is to start advocating for themselves and using the resources available. There is no shame in reaching out for help and the only person you’re hurting by not getting help is yourself. Whether it be counseling services, the CWAA, or any office on campus, their role is to ensure our success. Advocating for yourself is a very hard habit to start. You may feel uncomfortable or afraid to stand up for yourself and what you need. However, I assure you it is worth it. As someone who has academic accommodations and must speak to my professors each semester about what I need to succeed, I can assure you it gets easier with time. You can do it!


5. What are you looking forward to this year?


I am looking forward to experiencing some normalcy and gaining back some of my college experience. There are some traditions and activities that I missed out on freshman year that I hope to experience this year. Also, I am excited to meet more people at Stonehill since I didn’t get as much of an opportunity last year. If you ever see me in the CWAA, please say hello!






20 views0 comments
bottom of page