top of page
Search

OPINION: The end of an era

By Justine Long


Being a senior comes with a rollercoaster of feelings and certain “lasts” that you don’t want to face. This last is especially hard, for our seniors and for our staff. This group of editors and writers is really something special, and we have put our all into every issue that was printed. The Summit has had a big part in shaping who I am at Stonehill. Immediately, the journalism department became family and we only grew as time went on.


As freshmen, we learned to write in AP style and come up with leads. In sophomore year, we copyedited and were sent on interviews that most of us didn’t know were possible. Covid hit junior year, and we learned to adapt to an online format, creating a blog and keeping up with the pandemic. Finally, as seniors, we are graduating with not only experience in journalism but lifelong friendships that started because of this newspaper.


I want to thank my family, the penthouse, and my entire support system who keeps reading my writing no matter what the subject. Every writer needs that encouragement and you provide that along with so much more. I love you and I promise I won’t stop writing.


To the core five and fellow section editors: I want to thank you for pushing me to be a better writer. I am really going to miss walking into the office, opening up the layout, and hanging out until midnight. The Summit is and always will be a voice for students on this campus. I am proud to be the Features Editor where I have learned about so many people and heard all those voices.


For one final print, here's to all the memories we made and wrote about.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page