top of page
Search

OPINION: Spain without the "s"

By Meghan Jarret


Hearing the words, “Study abroad will be canceled for the upcoming semester,” was one of the most disheartening moments of my college career thus far. Having studied the Spanish language and culture since middle school, it has been a dream of mine to walk the streets of Granada, go to the Museo Prado in Madrid, or take the opportunity to fly to other countries and visit my friends studying there.

This once incredible experience of a lifetime slowly slipped away in the wake of Covid-19, leaving us dreamers to wonder what study abroad is truly like. Alone and stuck at home in 2020, I was left to think that I would never be able to find a similar opportunity or find something that would make me just as happy.

What saddens me most is that as a senior who lost this opportunity, I get to see underclassmen live the dream I looked forward to most during my college career. However, I am also thrilled that these individuals can move forward and plan a life-changing adventure that will give them memories to last them a lifetime.

Fortunate enough for the current Spanish majors here at Stonehill, we have been given the opportunity to study under the coordinator of the Granada Institute of International Studies for an online study abroad experience. Although the experience is done virtually and could never amount to the real ones experienced in Spain, I am thankful for now to have a chance to learn about everything I’ve ever wanted and even participate in significant cultural events. Of course, a part of me is jealous that I will never have the experience of studying abroad, I hold on to the hope that Spain will remain, and I can now take my time to appreciate the abundance of culture upheld by the hearts of Spaniards.

Although I may be a Spanish major without ever having gone to Spain, I hope that one day I might be able to receive my master’s degree, live in the country, or even just visit all the places I have spent so many years learning about. Despite the upset many of us seniors have felt after losing this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, all we can do now is hope for the future. One day we will get there. Maybe in a month, a year, a decade, but who knows. All I know is that these experiences, or lack thereof, have made us stronger than ever.


7 views0 comments
bottom of page