top of page
Search

OPINION: College is forced onto high school students

By Caleb Tobin


Like many other high school students, I decided to pursue a college education after completing high school. It seemed like the logical choice, the thing you’re expected to do. Graduate high school, go to college to get your degree, then find a respectable job and live your life. This is the path countless guidance counselors and parents coerce their students and children towards. Recently, I’ve been thinking about why the idea of college is often pushed so hard onto high school kids, at times seeming like it is the only alternative to working a dead-end minimum wage job for life.


For the record, I want to say I am extremely happy with my choice of attending Stonehill. I knew I wanted to further my education and obtain my bachelor’s degree. College has many things I like: meeting new people, internship opportunities, and learning more about the career I want to pursue.


College isn’t for everyone, however. Not every student wants to do another four years of schooling, nor can everyone afford to. Some choose to take a gap year to work and save money, travel, or deal with personal issues. Others simply don’t think college is the right choice for them and might decide to go straight into the workforce. These are all great options that can lead to success and happiness without the stress of jumping straight into college.


The problem is, these options aren’t always explained to students, possibly misleading them into thinking four more years of school is the only path available. For the first three months of my senior year, college applications were one of the main priorities in class. Guidance counselors came into my English class to explain recommendation letters, GPAs, and how all the other pieces of the puzzle would come together to get us into our dream schools. Rarely were any of the options I discussed above mentioned to myself or classmates. The only real alternative offered to four-year schools was community college, but I have found that community college is looked down upon by many as “not real college,” even though it is a fantastic choice for higher education at a lower cost.


It partially makes sense why the notion of college is pushed onto high schoolers. Teachers want to see their students continue their education. Parents want their children to earn a degree so they get a better job. Still, I believe there needs to be a bigger emphasis on the fact that it isn’t for everyone. Many kids will choose to go to college because they want to, but for those who may not want to, they should be made aware of their options.

47 views0 comments
bottom of page