top of page
Search

OPINION: Are you Feeling Lucky

BY KIM HARRINGTON



St. Patrick’s Day is upon us and it is time to get festive, Skyhawks.


Every holiday has its perks, but St. Patty’s Day just has its charm to it. What other day can you get away with wearing all green, or eating entirely just Irish food?


I might be biased because I am half-Irish, but I do think that St. Patrick’s Day is the best holiday, for several reasons.


You just feel lucky; lucky to be alive and celebrating with your friends, lucky to experience the holiday, and most importantly, lucky to be you.


Everyone is in a good mood, as they are ready to celebrate and get the day started early. There are so many activities, whether that be the parade in Boston, or just going out with your friends and family.


The food, for me, is one of the best aspects of the entire day. Not only does my mom make an amazing boiled dinner, but my entire family comes over to enjoy it. It is hard to not love great food and sharing it with your people.


My friends and I also attend the parade every year and can meet so many new people as well as watch everyone in the parade represent Ireland and their love for the culture.


Before the pandemic, I had the opportunity to visit Ireland during St. Patrick’s Day, which made me appreciate this holiday and the country even more.


Their love for their culture and family is so evident, especially during March.


The streets were flooded with greens and grins, and hundreds of Irishmen were marching down the streets with the Irish flag.


It truly was a one-of-a-kind experience and I am so lucky that I was able to see what it was like in person.




13 views0 comments
bottom of page